Experimental and simulation efforts influence our approaches to mechanics
  • Jaehyung Ju: Nonlinear constitutive modeling of cellular materials,  Auxetic, porous structures, finite element analysis, dynamic impact analysis
  • Nandika Anne D’Souza: Fracture mechanics, viscoelasticity and rheology, creep, piezoresponse modelling
  • Nie Xu: High-rate mechanics, Dynamic fracture and failure, Novel experimental techniques


Xu Nie conducts rate and timedependent deformation on his Kolskymeasurement system.

Mechanical Modeling


  • “A High Resolution Laser Displacement Measurement Technique for Kolsky Bar”, Sandia National Laboratory, $52,000, 2/1/2013-6/30/2014, PI
  • “Dynamic Interfacial Friction under Various Pressures”, Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL), $300,000 (UNT portion: $100,000), 8/15/2013-8/14/2015, PI
  • “Laser-based Velocity Measurement Technique with Hierarchical Resolution”, UNT ROP, $7,500, 9/1/2013-8/31/2014, PI
  • N. A. D’Souza and T. D. Golden, Bioinspired coatings for corrosion resistance, Qatar National Research Foundation, $275,000 1/1/2013 – 12/31/2015
  • N. A. D’Souza, Y. Tao, S. Brumbley Farmer-Academic-Industry Partnerships for Innovation in the Built Environment, National Science Foundation, 9/1/2011-8/31/2014
  • N. A. D’Souza and B. Ayre (and H. Lu, UTD), Collaborative Proposal: Characterization and Modeling of Natural Fiber Polymer Matrix Composites for Correlating Natural Fiber/Matrix Morphology, National Science Foundation, 6/1/2010 -5/31/2014
  • PI: J. Ju, Fracture toughness of ductile cellular materials for torsion”, KCIS, $20,000, 9/1/2013-8/31/2013.
  • PI: J. Ju, Large Strain and Rate Dependent Hyper-Viscoelastic Hysteresis Modeling of Filled Rubbers, UNT Research Initiation Grant (RIG), $10,000, 01/2012-12/2012.
  • Doo-Man Kim, School of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering, Korea Aerospace University
  • X. Nie, B. Song, Y. Ge, W. Chen, T. Weeresooriya. “Dynamic Tensile Testing of Soft Materials”. Experimental Mechanics, 49, 451-458, 2009
  • J. Schultz*, D. Griese, J. Ju, P. Shankar, J.D. Summers, and L. Thompson, 2012, Design of Honeycomb Meso-Structures for Crushing Energy Absorption, Transactions of the ASME: Journal of Mechanical Design, 134(7):071004 online
  • Ranade, K. Nayak, D. Fairbrother, N.A. D'Souza, “Maleated and non-maleated polyethylene-montmorillonite layered silicate blown films: creep, dispersion and crystallinity”,  Polymer, 46, 7323 (2005)
  • S. Vidhate, J. Chung, V. Vaidyanathan and N. A. D'Souza “Resistive–conductive transitions in the time-dependent piezoresponse of PVDF-MWCNT nanocomposites” Polym Journal  42, 567–574 (2010)
  • Xu Nie collaborates withBrett Sanborn, Tusit Weerasooriya, Army Research Laboratory, Bo Song, Erik Nishida, Sandia National Laboratory and Bradley Martin, Air Force Research Laboratory
  • Nandika Anne D’Souza collaborates with Gale Holmes, NIST, C. Powell and G. Beall at Texas State University